So Sad, No Time

*sigh*

You can always tell when a real life has caught up with a fish keeper.  The film of algae starts collecting on the glass, the fish seem just a little more starved for attention… In the past two weeks, I’ve traveled up to Boston, stripped and refinished my kitchen cabinets, and been diagnosed with bronchial pneumonia (I’m telling everyone this because I have a Real Excuse for the first time in my life).  Also, I can’t stop eating Oreos, but this is not new.

Starfire Zoanthid.  WANT.

Starfire Zoanthid. WANT. WILL OWN.

Fish bits  – I have ordered the protein skimmer.  I went with the Octopus… apparently it’s not only less expensive than the Tunze but they recently redesigned it so it’s more efficient.  Double trouble!

I’ve found a good dealer for aquacultured coral, so the big tank might start getting stocked in the next few weeks.  Right now the only thing holding me back is the coralline that has just started to grow like crazy on the live rock in the 65g… it tends to grow faster under actinic lighting, so I’ve left the blue spectrum lights on and left the red-to-white white lights off since the live rock was first introduced.  If coral goes in the tank, I have to start using the white spectrum and that might restrict the coralline.  Decisions, decisions…

The 65g is now at t-minus four months until a mandarin goby can be safely added.  I’ll get some more fish in there once the protein skimmer has been broken in, because right now it’s still just the clownfish and Slime-atron.  It might be time to add an Indigo Dottyback.

Oh, and did you hear they’ve managed to start successfully aquaculturing some angelfish?  This?  Awesome.

~ by KBSpangler on May 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “So Sad, No Time”

  1. “Right now the only thing holding me back is the coralline that has just started to grow like crazy on the live rock in the 65g… it tends to grow faster under actinic lighting, so I’ve left the blue spectrum lights on and left the red-to-white white lights off since the live rock was first introduced.”

    Are you sure about that? Because I have had a coralline explosion on every glass surface of my ‘fuge since I put proper lighting on it — a twin-lamp T5 from Home Depot. 😉 (The tank’s lit with 50/50 CFs, and a lot more wattage.) It seems to grow thinner but faster under the yellow lamps; I’ve actually been thinking about experimenting to see if this is true — it could be an easy way to get coverage fast, and then color later under actinics.

    • Pretty sure! Everything I’ve read about coralline is that it’s a deep-water algae that likes the blue spectrum. I envy you if you’ve got a variety that likes the yellow spectrum! Please let me know if you do decide to experiment.

Leave a Reply

 
