Aggressive Tank Cleaning in 5… 4… 3…

I hate going through old pictures of the aquariums. The urchin died, the algea has taken over the live rock, I can't even remember the last time there was a cerith snail in that tank...

I hate going through old pictures of the tanks. The urchin has died, the algea has taken over the live rock, the hawkfish ate all the cerith snails...

Been silent around here for the last week or so, as my parents were in town and my days have been dedicated to watching my language and eating.  Now that they are leaving – and taking their trainwreck of a dog with them – I’m sure I’ll subconsciously kick over into Overcompensation Mode and start crash-dieting and cursing a blue streak.

Somewhere in there will be aggressive tank cleaning.  I was in the process of breaking down The Teabox before my parents arrived and had to stop while there was still water in it or I’d leave the snails high and dry.  Long story short, my kitchen smells a bit like the tide rolled in and forgot to roll back out again, and tomorrow afternoon is dedicated to many hours of snail retrieval and acclimation to the 65g.  I’m not kidding on the hours bit… the stomatella had babies.  Hundreds and hundreds of babies.  I’m just going to turn on the television, grab a turkey baster, and start sucking them up.

Speaking of time-intensive acclimation, a Bartlett has been added to the 65g.  The fish store called me while we were at the zoo to let me know that a juvenile female Bartlett was waiting for me – they are a real bitch (see? It begins) to acclimate so I asked them to keep her in the baggie for a couple of hours.  After our fill of polar bears and puffins, I picked her up and left her to acclimate for the rest of the afternoon – my parents are very impressed with reef tanks, but I think the whole bit where I had bought a girl fish because she was less expensive than the boy fish but was okay with it because she’ll probably turn into a boy is a little different than how they manage their own pets.

As of tonight, she’s been in the tank for about three hours.  I fed the tank, plopped her in a quiet corner during the frenzy, and turned off the lights; we’ll see how she does in the daylight tomorrow.  As of the time of writing, she and the Fridmani pseudochromis (AKA: Lydia) have buddied up and and are exploring the rockwork together.  I’m especially happy about this as the Fridmani would be the only fish in the tank that would give her grief, and they are getting along swimmingly splendidly.

~ by KBSpangler on July 8, 2009.

5 Responses to “Aggressive Tank Cleaning in 5… 4… 3…”

  1. I bloody love you, and I have never met you.

    In all seriousness though….Your blog are informative, interesting, and are making me want to spend money that I won’t have for years..grins It’s a bit of a shame, my area, Roanoke VA, has only few pet shops, and none ofd em have a decent fish selection in freshies, let alone salt. My old roommate and I are actually considering Raleigh as a place to move in 2011, and if it has awesome fish places, I will argue like a snail on glass for it.

    • Hah! Thank you! 🙂

      It can be very cheap to set up a reef tank if you’re willing to take people’s seconds. Everyone has a box of stuff they’ll never use. Heck, I have a Teabox for you if you want it!

      And Raleigh has some incredible fish places. 😉

  2. I have never had a problem with seconds. One of my main fun things is cruising yard sales and flea markets.

    I was actually at one today, lady had a 30 long with a great stand and hood, and she only wanted 20 bucks for it. Quite unfortunately, someone else got to it before I did, and with maiming being illegal…eh

    I remember you talking about a teabox. Would it be better, or worse do you think, for me to start out with something like that?

    • I’m thinking it might be worse? The thing about the all-in-one tanks is that they give the impression of being easier to maintain than other tanks, but are actually just as labor-intensive – maybe more so, as they have rear chambers with hidden areas and these collect decomposing materials and become little nitrate bombs. A straight rectangular tank might not look as high-tech but you know every inch of it and how to clean the crannies.

      • Eh….I think you’re right. Besides, if I ever get my ducks in a row, I will go big with it, or stick to my freshwater lovelies. One of my fv tanks was a 55 gallon. Wee little school/pod of 8 cories dashing about on the bottom, and a huge ball of neon tetras. Looked a abit like a bait ball from the discovery channel 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
